Z for Zinger

(a striking or amusing remark)

Chapter 26

When Step finally made an appearance downstairs it was Sunday morning.  The others were all seated around the breakfast table, Dr Goodheart, Nurse Smiley, Peter, Tom, Wattle and Rose.  Even Woof was allowed in the kitchen for some strange reason.

“Welcome home,” they all chorused at once.

Step wondered what all the fuss was about but it seemed he was a hero.  All the newspapers had his picture on the front page.  Headlines like “Boy Catches Escapee” and “Step the Superhero” had made him famous, if only for a few days.

Nurse Smiley later explained what had happened to Phineas and his mate.  Of course, Phineas was in big trouble for escaping from gaol, but he was able to prove that he was not the one who shot Sad’s aunt and uncle.  His “mate” was sentenced to 30 years gaol and Phineas was retried and sentenced to five years for armed robbery.  Sad had been hidden under witness protection and could now rejoin his parents.

“And now,” said Nurse Smiley, “We are all going to lead peaceful, boring lives.  I couldn’t stand any more excitement.  I’ve had enough to last a lifetime.”

The last thread still had to be tied.  One day there was a knock at the door.  Dr Goodheart answered and was surprised to be given a flat piece of board by a tall thin policeman.  Following Step’s instructions the police had found their missing car and retrieved Step’s piece of wood.  There was no excuse not to get started on his Explorers of NSW project.

Nurse Smiley found Step in the back garden staring pensively at nothing.

“Anything wrong,” she asked. “You seem very quiet lately.”

“Well,” said Step, “it’s just that Sad has found his parents and Tear has her mother and a new family.  My dad said he would be back when his ship came in but I don’t even know what that means.”

“It means that when the situation is right for him to take you back he will come for you.  Maybe he is travelling and establishing a new life. If he is still with your stepmother he may think you are better off without her. I’m sure he is doing what he thinks is best for you.”

“What worries me is that he won’t know how to find me.  We have moved so many times since he left me on the steps of the Opera Orphanage for Unwanted Children he couldn’t contact me even if he wanted to.”  Step looked sadly at Woof and stroked his head.

“I’m sure he could find you if he really wanted to,” said Nurse Smiley, “and remember, until that time comes we will always be here for you.”

On a dark, wet and windy night two figures walked hand in hand, illuminated by the street lights.  One was tall, with a long overcoat and a hat pulled low over his head.  The other was very small, a young boy dressed in an ill-fitting jacket and long baggy shorts which reached well below his knees.

Step thought back to that fateful night.  He wondered what his father was doing now.  Was he still with that awful stepmother?  Was he able to get a job and move out of the grinding poverty that kept the three of them in perpetual squalor?

Spring arrived.  The trees were in blossom, leaves appeared on the deciduous trees and the days were warm, in the sun at least.  Step was leaving his school when he saw a tall figure he recognised loitering outside the gate.

“Dad….. you’ve come back!”

His dad wore a short-sleeved shirt and no hat.  He stood up straight and looked tanned and healthy.

“Hello, son,” he said.  “I’ve been searching for you for a long time and now I’ve found you. Things have changed since I saw you last.”

Step felt his heart harden.  Where had his father been while he was living in an orphanage?  As far as his father was concerned he could have been dead and he wouldn’t have known anything about it.

“I’m very happy where I am, thanks Dad. I live in a house with loving foster parents and brothers and sisters.  I like my school and my teacher and have lots of friends.  I don’t want anything to change.”

As he said those words Step realised they were true.  He didn’t want to change anything about his life.  He waited to hear what his dad’s response would be.

“I read about you in the paper.  That’s how I found where you live, or at least where you go to school, so I waited outside the gate hoping I might see you. I’m not with your stepmother any more.  She was bad news.  I’ve joined the Navy and will be away at sea for much of the time.  However, I would like to support you as much as I can.  Maybe you can take me to your foster parents and we can work something out? I’d like to see you when I can but if you’re happy with them then that is where you should stay.”

With that, the two figures walked hand in hand towards the terrace house where Step knew he would live until he grew up.  A sudden thought crossed his mind and he turned to his father, grinning.

“Hey, Dad,” he said. “Now I know what it means.  I may not see you all the time, but I will see you ….  when your ship comes in.”

THE END

24 thoughts on “Z for Zinger

      1. Yes, I’m still travelling, but alone now. My husband passed away in January 2022. I was privileged to nurse him at home until the end.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. This wad a great story. I enjoyed it all the way through. I envy you, your children, and grandchildren who got to hear these stories growing up. Well done. Thanks for sharing. Looking forward to next year’s writing. Harvey Heilbrun

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Not sure what you mean about chapter. Do you mean another? Thanks for reading. I’m thinking of getting John’s letters from the ship on the way to England and his three years there into typed up form and maybe next year’s A to Z. Linda

      Like

  2. I really enjoyed following your children on their adventures. As I said before, this would make an excellent chapter book for children. I hope you go on the publish it. You are an excellent storyteller. Looking forward to reading what else you come up with this year and I’ll see you for A to Z in 2025!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oops, pressed Send too soon. I would love to know how your grandchildren reacted along the way, and whether their comments and questions were anything like ours. Well done! I really enjoyed following your writing again this year, and am in awe of your discipline and organization in getting the chapters lined up to post in advance while you cruised the high seas. Thank you for your thoughtful comments on my posts and here’s to the year!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I recall when we read the final chapter together there were tears all round. The stories had been going for years and the fact they had finally finished seemed like the end of an era. For years I just made up stories on the run and then later I had to try and remember them and write them down. From about P I wrote them in advance and read them to them. My grandchildren grew faster than Step and Tear which affected the storyline.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment