B is for Books

Can you remember the first time you became aware that the black squiggles on pages represented the spoken word?  I can still recall that lightbulb moment well before I started school but it was quite a process before I could read confidently myself.

Sue david wendy
A Book to Read NSW Department of Education

Reading in the 1950s was taught using phonics and sight words and  by the use of school readers and work books.  There was a lot of repetition and very little variety in the stories as Wendy, Sue and David ran, jumped, skipped and played with Nip.  By the end of second class we completed Travelling On and were ready for the School Magazine.

school mag
The School Magazine arrived each month to supply us with reading material and was always welcome.

 

The magazine shown here reflects the excitement of Australians anticipating the arrival of Queen Elizabeth.  Her Majesty and Prince Philip were to enter Sydney Harbour in the Royal Yacht Britannia while the adoring public waved flags and sang “God Save the Queen”.

 

Seven Little Aus
This is Judy who was killed by a falling tree while protecting her little brother.

I wasn’t a precocious early reader and can still recall at the age of seven struggling to read Seven Little Australians aloud to my grandmother, Ella.  She would take over when I grew tired but would only read selected parts, such as the death of Judy, which reduced me to tears every time.

 

 

Despite our isolation in the country my father would occasionally take me to Sydney to visit Greenwood’s Second Hand Bookshop in Castlereagh Street.  I was allowed to buy about half a dozen books which would last me until the next visit and be read many times.  A Little Bush Maid and the subsequent Billabong books by Mary Grant Bruce were great favourites.

heidi
Heidi had a great life in the Alps eating bread and cheese and drinking goat’s milk.

What Katy Did, Heidi, Anne of Green Gables and Little Women were devoured.  One of my early books was The Adventurous Four by Enid Blyton.  Of all her Famous Five, Secret Seven and Malory Towers books, this one remained my favourite.

Advent 4
To think four children would be allowed to go to sea in a boat!  No wonder they were shipwrecked.

 

 

Our one teacher school had a very small library.  It was only a bookcase  of five shelves but the Department of Education sent a new box of books once a month.  The downside was they had to be returned on time and we were not allowed to take them home.  Too bad if we were halfway through a book when it came time to pack up the box.

Man who laughs

 

Comic Books were popular but because my father didn’t really approve of them he bought me Classics Illustrated.  From them I became familiar with The Tale of Dorian Grey, Around the World in Eighty Days and The Man Who Laughs, to name a few.

blackberry

 

Two little second hand books I adored were “Flower Fairies of the Autumn” and “Flower Fairies of the Wayside” by Cicely Mary Barker.  The plants and weeds were English but where I lived in the Southern Highlands of NSW they were quite common.  I matched the fairies with my friends but the one I picked for myself was the Blackberry Fairy.  Not only did I love blackberries but I thought I looked a bit like her with my mop of dark, curly hair.

 

 

5 thoughts on “B is for Books

  1. I’m not familiar with Australian children’s writers, but Enid Blyton I definitely know! I grew up reading her stories. My favourites were Hop, Skip and Jump (a story about Brownies); The Faraway Tree series; Malory Towers; and The Secret Series (which had Jack, Peggy, Mike and Nora).

    Mum grew up on Illustrated Classics and other comic books. She speaks of them every now and then.

    And I recall reading of how “Pat can run. Ann can run. Pat and Ann can run.” way back.

    Love memories!

    Like

  2. How frustrating to have to stop mid-book. Books in those days were previous and special, though many of those school readers were Boring!! My dad also frequented a special second-hand shop in Brisbane where he’d find all sorts of books.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I loved books! I’ve written a series of blogs on the books I read at various stages of my life.
    I loved the Bobbsey Twins, then the Famous Five books, which I got from the library. We couldn’t afford to buy books.
    I also loved the school magazine, and I would have been reading a year or two ahead ahead of you I think. I was at a small Catholic school of 3 classrooms, but we still got the school magazines, thankfully!
    My first husband was teacher at five different small schools & my older kids had him as their teacher – the first two for the whole of their primary school years. Small schools were great for developing a sense of family, responsibility & sharing among the children who attended them. I can vouch for that! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

